Shri Mahalakshmi (Laxmi) – the Goddess of Wealth

Goddess Lakshmi (Laxmi)is popularly known as the Goddess of Wealth and Prosperity. But prosperity here refers to both spiritual as well as material. She is also called Shri Mahalakshmi as she has six divine qualities or gunas of light, wisdom, fortune, fertility, generosity and courage and personifies beauty, grace and charm itself. She is the consort of Lord Vishnu, the protector, and is considered to be his superior spiritual feminine energy. The worship of Mahalakshmi is said to bring good luck and fortune as she is the one who purifies, empowers and uplifts the individual.

Shri Mahalakshmi-the goddess of wealth has always been in existence though she is said to be born in the samudra manthan or churning of Ksheersagar. She is also said to be born to the sage Bhrigu and is therefore also known as Bhargavi. Every time Lord Vishnu takes birth on earth as an avatar, Goddess Lakshmi also comes to earth as an avatar or reincarnation. Mahalakshmi is also the presiding Goddess in Devi Mahatmyam or Durga Saptashati consisting of 700 verses in praise of the Goddess Durga, an incarnation of Shakti or Power.

She is commonly depicted as sitting or standing on a full-bloomed lotus holding a lotus bud which represents beauty, purity and fertility. Her four hands imply the four ends of life–dharma, kama, artha and moksha which means righteousness, desires, wealth and freedom from the cycle of birth and death. Gold coins flow from her hands which is interpreted as those who worship her are showered with wealth. Two elephants spraying water on either side of Goddess Lakshmi stand for continuous effort guided by dharma, purity and wisdom will always lead to spiritual and material prosperity.

Shri Lakshmi is further considered to be the source of eight kinds of wealth and is worshiped in her eight secondary manifestations or incarnations. These are…
– Adi-Lakshmi, the primal mother goddess
– Dhanya-Lakshmi, the goddess of granary wealth or food
– Dhairya-Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth of courage
– Gaja-Lakshmi, the goddess of elephants, which denotes wealth of power and strength
– Santan-Lakshmi, the goddess of the wealth of progeny and continuity
– Vijaya-Lakshmi, the goddess for wealth of victory
– Vidya-Lakshmi, the goddess for wealth of knowledge and education
– Dhan-Lakshmi, the goddess of monetary wealth

Other than this more commonly known manifestations of Mahalakshmi are Aishwarya-Lakshmi, the goddess of prosperity, Bhagya-Lakshmi, the goddess of luck, Vaibhav-Lakshmi, the goddess of success, Vara-Lakshmi, one who gives boons, Saubhagya-Lakshmi, goddess of fortune, Rajya-Lakshmi, the goddess who blesses rulers. The list goes on as there are several regional interpretations of Goddess Lakshmi and one can even say that there are thousands of incarnations in which she is worshiped. She is the basis of all creation on earth and without her nothing would exist. In fact one will not get anything even if one goes begging without the grace of Shri Mahalakshmi. Lakshmi or wealth is also chanchala or fickle and therefore she does not stay at one place for long, hence Devi Mahalakshmi should be worshiped daily.

Though Shri Mahalakshmi is worshiped daily she is especially worshiped at Diwali, the festival lights which usually falls around end of October or beginning of November.

Lakshmi Gayatri Mantra

Mahalakshmi (Laxmi) Mantra

Visit: Miracle Yantra


2 thoughts on “Shri Mahalakshmi (Laxmi) – the Goddess of Wealth

  1. I just want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and actually loved this blog site. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You surely have awesome articles. With thanks for sharing your website.

  2. Hello, we are getting too many or the same comments from you under different names which are not relevant to the post. I am sorry to say that I have to delete your comment unfortunately. Hope you understand.

Leave a Reply